Beta Weekend 3 Report.

Well, beta weekend three is winding down now and, unfortunately, I had to work again for most of it.  I swear the Gods are conspiring against me!  I did get in a bit of time and continued to level my Chanter.

Naamaah

Naamaah

I am noticing an increasing population in each of the events as the servers were full and had a queue for much of the weekend.  I think word is starting to spread about how good Aion is.  I know WAR had a lot of  hype, but it seems different with Aion.  WAR’s hype was generated by the devs, who did an excellent job hyping the game.  Aion, on the other hand, seems to be mostly positive word of mouth by the players.  I have seen a few interviews with Liv and others at NCSoft, but the vast majority is coming from the players.  This is an excellent sign, I think.

I am really enjoying the environments in the game at the moment, it still amazes me that the game runs as smooth as it does.  Running through Pandemonium (Asmodian capitol city) and getting 100FPS with tons of people around gives me hope for mass PvP battles with minimal lag.  Not to mention, Pandemonium looks fantastic.

Naamaah in Pandemonium

Naamaah in Pandemonium

This is also the first time I have really gotten to experiment with flying and even though it is limited at my level, you can tell how much its going to impact PvP.  Introducing a Z-Axis to gameplay complicates PvP battles immensely and we are likely to see a lot of innovative strategies once the population matures and learns the mechanics.  I am also very interested to see what NCSoft can do to incorporate flying into PvE mechanics.  Raid bosses that require flight at certain stages and the like.  So many possibilities are added with the addition of flight, I hope NCSoft can exploit them to the fullest.

I found a very strange but fun video on YouTube today that illustrates aerial PvP very well.  As I said its very strange but I think you will enjoy it.

I think my favorite part is the fight on the bridge.  His target jumps off and pops his wings seconds before he hits the ground and glides.  He follows him down and the fight continues.  Starts a few hundred feet up in the air and finishes on the ground, all in a matter of seconds.  The fights look so fast paced and fun.  I think a deciding factor in most Abyss fights is how well the combatants take advantage of the flight mechanic.

I will leave you with one last PvP video.  This one is a sorcerer and he may be one of the best players I have seen yet.

Thats it for now.  Have to work again tomorrow, but look for more posts tonight or tomorrow night!  Take it easy folks!

Leave a Reply

